David Geary says Rails is 5x-10x faster

Its heartening to hear that I wasn’t completely crazy when I claimed you could develop web applications ten times faster with Rails. David Geary just said that he thinks 5x-10x is justified.

David also hits the nail squarely on the head when he says that lack of i18n support is a serious hole in Rails’ functionality. A recent thread on the Rails mailing list has been kicking this topic around. Hopefully something good will come out of it.

I have one very minor correction in in what David Geary said in his post. I didn’t say that Rails development was 10x faster than “any” Java framework, I said that it was 10x faster than a “typical” Java framework. I was mostly thinking of the ubiquitous Struts, although if I were doing any serious Java web development I’d, personally, be using Spring instead.

Leave a Reply

